Traffic Ticket Points
Before paying a traffic ticket in North Carolina, consider the following!
North Carolina has two point systems: the North Carolina Department of Transportation (DOT) assesses points on your driver's license, and the Safe Driver Incentive Plan (SDIP) gives you insurance points. If you received a Tyrrell County speeding ticket, here's the information you need to know:
Any traffic citation, even a speeding ticket, may create serious consequences for years to come. A ticket may add points to your driving record and your SDIP record. Points add up and will eventually lead to the suspension of your driver's license. Any points may increase your insurance premiums.
The Twiford Law Firm, P.C. can help you eliminate or reduce the impact of your ticket. We are available to discuss the possibility of having your violation reduced or even dismissed, which will prevent the assessment of higher points. Call us for a free phone consultation. 1-888-435-2811.
POINTS ASSESSED ON YOUR LICENSE BY THE NC DOT
|5||Passing a stopped school bus loading or unloading children|
|4||Hit & Run - property damage only|
|4||Following too closely|
|4||Driving on wrong side of road|
|4||Failure to yield right-of-way to pedestrian|
|3||Running through stop sign|
|3||Speeding more than 55 mph|
|3||Speeding through school zone|
|3||Failure to yield right of way|
|3||No driver license or license expired more than one year|
|3||Running through red light|
|3||Failure to stop for siren|
|3||Speeding through safety zone|
|3||Failure to report accident where such report is required|
|3||No liability insurance|
|2||All other moving violations|
Littering involving a motor vehicle
POINTS ASSESSED ON YOUR INSURANCE (SDIP)
|12||Vehicular manslaughter (or negligent homicide)|
|12||Prearranged highway racing or aiding and abetting same|
|12||Hit & run driving resulting in bodily injury or death|
|12||Driving whil impaired (DWI)|
|10||Highway racing or aiding and abetting same|
|10||Speeding to elude arrest|
|8||Driving while license revoked or Driving while vehicle registration revoked|
|4||High and run resulting in property damage|
|4||Passing a stopped school bus|
|4||Speeding greater than 75 mph when posted limit is less than 70 mph|
|4||Speeding greater 80 mph when posted limit is equal or greater than 70 mph|
|2||Speeding greater than 10 mph over limit and greater than 55 mph and |
less than 76 mph
|2||Speeding equal to or less than 10 mph over limit in equal to or lesser |
than 55 mph zone
|2||Following too closely|
|2||Driving on wrong side of the road|
|1||Speeding equal to or less than 10 mph over limit in less than 55 mph zone*|
|1||Any other moving violation (including exceeding safe speed, failure to yield |
to pedestrial, etc.)
*no points are assessed if driver has no other moving violation during the 3 year experience period
No points shall be assessed for convictions of the following offenses:
- Over loads, Over length, Over width, Over height
- Illegal parking
- Carrying concealed weapon
- Improper plates or Improper registration
- Improper muffler or equipment
- Improper display of license plates or dealer's tags
- Unlawful display of emblems and insignia
- Failure to display current inspection certificate
COST OF INSURANCE POINTS
|POINTS||RATE INCREASE||POINTS||RATE INCREASE|
For a single car policy, the surcharge is levied on the total premium. For a multiple car policy, the surcharge is applied to the highest rated car and then allocated among all cars in the policy. Points, once assigned, stay on a record for 3 years. They are assigned effective the date of conviction of a traffic offense or the date of an at-fault accident. The three-year experience period starts at the time of the next renewal of the policy or new purchase of insurance by the insured after the assignment of the points. If you purchase a one-year automobile policy on January 1, 2010, and are convicted of a 2-point violation on January 15, 2010, you won't see a premium increase until January 1, 2011, almost a year later, but your policy will be charged extra, not only for 2011, but for 2012 and 2013 as well.
The State of North Carolina has automated a process that allows recipients of citations to plead guilty and pay citations via the internet. Prior to completing the transaction you will be required to acknowledge that you have read the agreement, you have agreed to waive your right to a trial, you have agreed to plead guilty, and have waived the right to be represented by an attorney. The waiver then reads:
This request is made with the full understanding that a verdict/finding of guilty/responsible will be entered against my record; that if this is a motor vehicle offense, the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (or the licensing authority of any other State that issued my license to drive) will be notified of the verdict/finding; that it will have the same legal effect for all purposes as a verdict/finding of guilty/responsible after a trial/hearing; and that it may result in the assessment of points on my driving record or the suspension or revocation of my drivers license.
You should make sure you understand your rights, responsibilities and obligations before agreeing to the waiver. A full copy of the waiver is provided below for your convenience and may be found linked in the second checkbox here:
Waiver of Trial/Hearing, Plea of Guilty/Responsible, and Consent to Entry of Judgment:
By paying online, I acknowledge that I have been charged with the offense/infraction noted in my citation by the charging officer. I understand that I am presumed by law to be not guilty/not responsible until proven guilty/responsible beyond a reasonable doubt. Nevertheless, I am hereby waiving my constitutional rights to a trial/hearing in open court, to confrontation of the witness(es) against me, and to representation by an attorney. By paying online, I hereby plead guilty/responsible to the offense/infraction charged in my citation and tender to the court the payment of the fine/penalty and costs in this case.
I request that the court accept my waiver of trial/hearing, plea of guilty/responsible, and tender of fine/penalty and costs, and that a verdict/finding of guilty/responsible be entered. This request is made with the full understanding that a verdict/finding of guilty/responsible will be entered against my record; that if this is a motor vehicle offense, the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (or the licensing authority of any other State that issued my license to drive) will be notified of the verdict/finding; that it will have the same legal effect for all purposes as a verdict/finding of guilty/responsible after a trial/hearing; and that it may result in the assessment of points on my driving record or the suspension or revocation of my driver's license.
Note: The fine specified is a standard amount set by the chief district court judges of North Carolina pursuant to G.S. 7A-148. The court costs specified are set by the North Carolina General Assembly, apply to all cases disposed in district court, and are subject to change without notice.
Tyrrell County Speeding Ticket Law Firm
If you have questions about processing your payment online at www.payNCticket.org, you may contact the clerk of court's office in the county list at the top of your citation. If you have legal questions or concerns about the offense/infraction with which you were charged, you should consult an attorney licensed to practice law in North Carolina.
Call for an immediate consultation: 1-888-435-2811.